The Australian Curriculum has eight learning areas.  Some learning areas include more than one subject. These areas are:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Humanities and Social Sciences
    • History
    • Geography
    • Economics and Business
    • Civics and Citizenship
  • The Arts
    • Dance
    • Drama
    • Music
    • Visual Arts
  • Technologies
    • Design and Technologies
    • Digital Technologies
  • Health and Physical Education
  • Language – Japanese

The content descriptions specify what all young people should be taught, and the achievement standards set out the depth of understanding and sophistication of skill expected of students at points in their schooling.

Please visit for further details on the Australian Curriculum.