Our School


Deborah Hemming Principal
Sue Schmidt Deputy Principal
Dana Lauck Curriculum Co-ordinator
Office Administration
Julie Saffery SSO – Finance Manager
Natalie Schneider SSO – Administration Manager
Catherine Murdoch SSO – Finance Support
Joanne Aylmore SSO – Administration Support
Trudy McCard SSO – Uniform Shop Manager
Junior Primary Unit
Isabelle Watts Teacher – Reception
Anthea Bartlett Teacher – Reception
Prue Cawley/Lauren Williams Teacher – Year 1
Lesia Phillips/Bianca Cowell Teacher – Year 1/2
Merri James Teacher – Year 2
Middle Primary Unit
Liz Loveday Teacher – Year 3
Olivia Resnais Teacher – Year 3/4
Wendy Lane/Angela Kay Teacher – Year 4/5
Natalie Tilling Teacher – Year 4/5
Upper Primary Unit
Claire Bosworth Teacher – Year 6
Alicia Read Teacher – Year 7
Kathryn Liscombe Teacher – Year 7
Specialist Teachers
Sachiyo Yokoi Teacher – Japanese
Dean Carter Teacher – Physical Education & Health
Angela Kay Teacher – Performing Arts/Choir
Lyn Smart Literacy Support
Student Service Officer (SSO)
Sheena-Margot Lavelle SSO – SAKG Kitchen Specialist
Cheryl Huxtable SSO – Class Support
Robyn Overduin SSO – Class Support/Library Officer
Wendy Nicolle SSO – Class Support/SAKG Garden Specialist
Louise Hicks SSO – Class Support
Gaby RoseMeyer SSO – Class Support
Pastoral Care Worker
Kelly Townsend
The School Day

The School Day at Happy Valley runs as follows:

8.30am - 8.55am Arrive at School
8.55am School Starts
9.10am - 10.00am Lesson
10.00am - 10.50am Lesson
10.50am - 11.10am RECESS
11.10am - 12.05pm Lesson
12.05pm - 12.55pm Lesson
12.55pm - 1.05pm LUNCH - Eating
1.05pm - 1.35pm LUNCH - Playing
1.35pm - 2.25pm Lesson
2.25pm - 3.15pm Lesson
3.15pm School Finishes
3.15pm - 3.30pm Student Pickup
Term Dates


Term 1: 29 January - 13 April
Term 2: 30 April - 6 July
Term 3: 26 July - 28 September
Term 4: 15 October - 14 December


Term 1: 29 January - 12 April
Term 2: 29 April - 5 July
Term 3: 22 July - 27 September
Term 4: 14 October - 13 December


Term 1: 28 January - 9 April
Term 2: 27 April - 3 July
Term 3: 20 July - 25 September
Term 4: 12 October - 11 December



The Kookaburra Canteen is open Wednesday, Thursday and Friday offering a range of delicious, healthy, homemade meals and snacks.
Our Menu adheres to the Rite Bite SA criteria.

Our aim is to use our own organic produce, fresh and seasonal wherever possible and to encourage our kids to make healthy choices by offering plenty of GREEN foods and fewer AMBER foods.

Please show your support wherever possible and help us to make Happy Valley Primary School a happy, healthy eating school where we can watch our kids thrive!

Thank you and happy eating.

Sheena-Margot Lavelle

Canteen Manager

Direct Phone Line 8322 6579


Term 2 & 3 Menu available here.......... 


Order through the Qkr! App for easy payment. For instructions on downloading the Qkr! App please click here.....

Flexibuzz App

Here at Happy Valley Primary School we are using the Flexibuzz App for all our communication - events calendar, notices, attendance, payments, contact with office, change of details, school interviews, newsletters, canteen menu, uniform orders and access to the website.

Please Download the Flexibuzz App for your device or computer.

Governing Council

All parents/caregivers are welcome to nominate to be a part of Governing Council at Happy Valley Primary School.

Our Annual General Meeting is held in February each year.

Governing Council meetings are held twice a term, usually on the third and eighth Monday.

The number of parents on council must constitute a majority.  In addition to elected parents, a council shall also have as members the Principal of the school (ex officio), representatives of the school staff.

Office bearers are elected for a one year term from members of the Council at the first meeting following the Annual General Meeting.  Positions include Chairperson, Secretary and Treasurer.

The Governing Council monitors the site operations and progress towards the broad directions set and the targets of the Site Learning Plan.  This is done at each governing council meeting where the principal and treasurer provide information and data as a part of their reports against the plans, priorities and budget.  A summary of these forms the basis of the Annual Report.

Listed below are our current Governing Council Members and their roles:

Debbie Hemming - Principal (ex officio)

Sue Schmidt - Deputy Principal

Michael Field - Chairperson

Shane Bissmire - Deputy Chairperson

Kylie Caruso - Secretary

Trudy McCard - Treasurer

Lauren Bennett - Member

Julie Coe - Member

Karina Gabell - Member

Gina Hattingh - Member

Jane Kennedy - Member

Baden Nicholas - Member

Martina Portman - Member

Alice Rawsthorn - Member

James Rundell - Member

Nicolle Tissen - Member

Claire Bosworth - Teacher Representative

Annual Report
Context Statement
Site Improvement Plan
School History

Happy Valley Primary School has a very long history.

In 1852 there was a Happy Valley School but the exact location has not been determined.

In 1896 Happy Valley School was closed because of the Happy Valley Reservoir being built.

The original site is now covered by water.

A new school was opened in 1898.  During the next 60 -70 years Happy Valley was a small country school, but it was obvious that urban development would occur.

In 1968 the Education Department purchased eleven acres in anticipation of this growth.

The original school is now Chandlers Hill Kindergarten.

In 1980 a new building was built to the west of Education Road. Enrolments continued to grow and peaked in 1991.

During 1986 it was decided to establish a Junior Primary School which worked with the Primary School.

In 1998 the School celebrated its Centenary.

In 2013 the two schools amalgamated to form Happy Valley Primary School.

External School Review Report October 2017